CITY OF SMITHS GROVE

POST OFFICE BOX 114

SMITHS GROVE, KENTUCKY 42171 ORDINANCE 80-4 132.1

Reorganization of City Government to City Commission

Pursuant to action by the 1980 Kentucky General Assembly

in regular session, KRS 83A.020, 83A.030 (2)(3):

Be it ordained by the City of Smiths Grove, Kentucky that beginning December 1, 1980, and thereafter the organization of the government of said city shall be that of a city commission. Said commission shall consist of four (4) Commissioners elected for two (2) year terms and a mayor elected for a four (4) year term with elections for the office's commencing with the November 1981 general election.

The present members of the Smiths Grove Board of Trustees shall become the Smiths Grove City Commission with four (4) of the present trustees becoming city commissioners and the Chairman of the Board of Trustees being appointed by the commission to the office of mayor. These named officers shall continue in office until the end of their elected term, the

first Monday of January, 1982.

This action is taken with respect to and shall be in compliance with KRS 83A.020, 83A.030, 83A.040, 83A.140, and all other applicable statutes of the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

First Reading: October 27, 1980 Second REading: November 24, 1980

Chairman, Board of Trustees

City Clerk